Sunday, July 02, 2006

Random Thoughts of the Day

Just a few things running through my head as I go to bed: (warning, some serious, some silly. Be prepared for anything.)

*The Devil Wears Prada was a surprisingly great movie. It had some interesting critiques (though nothing revolutionary) about the fashion industry and was very entertaining. It was a little depressing to see alot of my own tendencies in the Andie character....it's a good thing I have friends to pull me out of my insane love of all things related to fashion, success, people pleasing, and the ways that all those things have the ability to interact.

*I love girls nights out. Nothing better than the Rio with my ladies Friday, some quality girl shopping time for the botique with Sarah on Saturday, and the Devil Wears Prada and drinks on Sunday. Girls are great.

*I'm not ready for my dear British brother Marcus to leave. I had to hold back tears when Jay mentioned it at church this evening. I realized that I've always been the one leaving, and never really had to deal with having someone I love so much leave first. Apparently, I'm not too good at being on this end.

*I want to have a party where people make mix CD's of their favoriote songs...or at least the best dang mix they can muster up...then we can do some kind of sweet game like a White Elephant Exchange and all end up knowing about some new music and having a great time listening to tunes in our car. I think the fact that I think about things like this makes me a music snob, but I'm not sure.

*Today was my first day OFF...totally off... in about 2 weeks. Before that I had almost 3 weeks straight of guests, so today was the first day where no one needed me. It was incredible. I didn't get out of bed until 12, sat on the couch reading until 2 and then went to St. Marks. You can't beat it.

*I've been thinking about duty and love. Is it ever okay for love to become a habit or get a sense of perserverance to it? Specficially, is it always necessary to know that you're doing things for God out of a sense of love for Jesus? Or can we ever do it out of duty? Is that still love? How does this play into our relationships now? When I'm doing things out of duty, is that something that I should be repenting of? How can one even trust their heart? I think there is alot more to think through on this one. It probably deserves an entire post of it's own, and someday maybe I will indulge in such an adventure.

*I need to figure out this South Africa stuff.

*I had mean thoughts about my landlord all day today. We'll just consider this a confession.

I feel better now that that's all out. I suppose I can go to bed now.

3 comments:

Anonymous said...

Duty is iffy (and usually bad). I'm not saying it doesn't happen to everyone in some area of faith, but if we are saved by grace and grace alone, then why should we have to do anything because we're required to by some sense of guilt aversion?

Of course, try running a church service like that...

::Nicole:: said...

Well what about marriage? Like when the "feeling" of love is less available and yet you can't just leave the marriage...you still go through the acts of loving someone ... serving them ... and God honors that obdience, right? So, is it the same with Him? You know on a much much deeper level that your cognitive/emotional side that you love Him...even when you don't feel like it. So it becomes more like duty...

Is that okay? Or does it show just a lack of knowing and loving Him fully? What if that's all you have?

I'm not saying that this is necessarily everything I'm thinking through personally right now, as much as I'm curious on people's thoughts on this...

Anonymous said...

I think you are right, that there are times that duty is all you have, but if it's all you have continuously then it'll burn out to bitterness.

"But if all that's left is duty
I'm falling on my sword
At least then I would not serve
An unseen distant Lord."
(From Pedro the Lion's "Secret of the Easy Yoke")